Homemade Croutons

May 9, 2011


Yes, I am on a homemade kick. And yes, I am also on a salad kick. Putting that together with the stale bread I found in my bread drawer, making croutons made sense. I like to make my croutons in the oven toaster since it doesn’t require pre-heating, but I’m sure it would work in the oven too. Just make sure the oven is pre-heated.

Ingredients:
Stale bread (I used 1/4 french bread, and 1 ciabatta roll)
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tbsp dried basil
1 tbsp dried oregano
Salt
Pepper

1. Cut the stale bread to crouton sized pieces. I tend to like mine bigger, mainly because it’s a pain to cut up stale bread.
2. Lay out the bread pieces on a pan, and pour olive oil over it.
3. Shake the basil, oregano, salt and pepper over the pan.
4. Turn the bread pieces to incorporate and thoroughly mix the seasonings and olive oil.
5. Bake the crouton at 350°F for 10 minutes. Turn the bread pieces mid way.
6. Let cool.

I found that the croutons really goes well with the Maple Balsamic Vinaigrette that I made last week! (shameless plug for another recipe)

Now Listening to: Landslide-Fleetwood Mac

Leave a Reply

